WHAT IS DESKTIFY?
Desktify is a virtual disposable desktop service. Virtual means that it is created and destroyed on demand in the cloud. Disposable means that it's intended to be used once (for as many hours as you wish though) and then it's thrown away.

WHY IS DESKTIFY USEFUL?
Desktify provides a guaranteed clean, unmonitored desktop that you can count on at any time. When you create a new desktop instance it's ready to use - it comes with lots of preconfigured software so you can start using it right away. Other than software, the desktop has nothing: There wasn't a previous user (because it was created for you in that very moment), and you don't have to worry about leaving data behind. The virtual computer your desktop runs on will be destroyed when you are done. You can use it to get a safe environment from anywhere. In many places (corporations, cybercafes, hotels...) you can't really be sure if what you are doing is being recorded or not. However when you connect to Desktify only the connection to it can be logged, but not what you are doing - be it just browsing some sites you prefer to keep to yourself, sending personal emails or accessing your bank, to name a few typical privacy sensitive activities.

DO I NEED TO INSTALL ANY SOFTWARE TO CONNECT?
You can connect with any RDP (Remote Desktop) software, including the one that comes with Windows. You can also connect with NX version 3.5, which you can get from the download area (available for linux as well). Since we use standard protocols you can connect from almost any device, either with already included software or with software readily available from the usual software repositories. Yo do not need to download any Desktify specific software.

HOW DOES THE SERVICE WORK, IN DETAIL?
When you first create an order you prepay for a number of hours of services (any amount you want). Then you can use your hours at any time. When you start a new desktop the timer starts counting down. When your hours are depleted the desktop will be immediately destroyed, leaving absolutely no trace of your data, cookies, downloads, history, etc. Really destroyed means destroyed.

WHAT IF I NEED MORE HOURS?
You can purchase additional time at any time as long as you have any left. Order additional hours at least one hour before the timer reaches zero (to allow for the payment to clear) because as soon as that happens your virtual machine will be destroyed. Once it's destroyed there's no way to get it back.

WHAT IF I'M DONE BEFORE I EXPECTED? CAN I SAVE MY PREPAID HOURS FOR LATER?
Yes, of course. You can destroy your instance at any time. The timer will be stopped and you can start a new instance whenever it's convenient for you.

CAN I STOP A INSTANCE AND RESUME WORKING ON IT LATER?
No. There's no such thing as an stopped instance. An instance is either running or it doesn't exist. There was a heated debate about this, and the conclusion was that stopped instances (which would of course contain user data) would defeat the purpose of this privacy oriented service.

CAN I DISCONNECT FROM THE VIRTUAL DESKTOP IF I WANT TO LEAVE IT DOING SOMETHING THAT DOESN'T NEED MY ATTENTION?
Yes. You can disconnect from the desktop if you want. It will continue to run uninterrupted. Note though that even if you are not connected if you don't destroy it then it will still be running (with its clock on) so make sure you don't forget about it.

WHAT INFORMATION DO YOU KEEP ABOUT YOUR USERS?
None. An account ID is just a large string generated randomly and it's not linked to anyone. Whoever has that ID uses the account, that's all. No ID, no access. Keep in mind that precisely because we aren't linking the account ID to any personal information or email account there is no way to recover an ID. Make sure you don't lose it! You should also read our privacy policy.

 

Login or Create an account to be able to send messages to other BitScan users.